Skip to main content
Skip to main content

National Women’s Studies Association Conference Award

National Women’s Studies Association (NWSA) conference awards are given each fall to support the participation of undergraduate students in the annual NWSA conference. 

The National Women’s Studies Association conference award covers transportation, hotel, conference registration and meals for an undergraduate student to participate in their annual conference.

See complete details about the award below.

Who is eligible to apply?

Any University of Maryland, College Park, undergraduate student in good standing who has completed 12 credits of WMST and/or LGBT courses.

How to apply?

To apply, please submit:

  • resume
  • list of LGBT and WMST courses, indicating which are completed and which are current enrollment
  • name and email address of one faculty recommender
  • 250-500 word statement of why you would like to attend the NWSA conference and how you will bring the information you learn back to the campus community
  • Note in your application if you can attend the full conference, or if only some days please list which ones

To learn more about the National Women’s Studies Association visit This video about the NWSA conference features several UMD women’s studies scholars (Dr. Mel Lewis, Ph.D. ‘12; Maariya Bassa, B.A. ‘12; Michelle Rowley, WMST Core Faculty):

For questions about the award, please contact Gwen Warman at

Past Recipients of the NWSA Conference Awards

  • 2017 “40 Years After Combahee: Feminist Scholars and Activists Engage the Movement for Black Lives” (Baltimore, Maryland) – Paula Molina Acosta and Bridget Rittman-Tune
  • 2016 “Decoloniality” (Montreal, Quebec, Canada) – Asma Amirah Neblett and Ciera Richardson
  • 2015 “Precarity” (Milwaukee, WI) – Guy Hostetter and Thomas Voracek
  • 2014 “Feminist Transgressions” (San Juan, Puerto Rico) – Melva Coles and Eleyna Rosenthal