Skip to main content
Skip to main content

Undergraduate Scholarships and Awards

The Harriet Tubman Department of Women, Gender and Sexuality Studies offers several scholarships and awards for undergraduate students.


Novak Family TerpStart Endowed Scholarship in LGBT Studies

The Novak Family TerpStart Endowed Scholarship in LGBT Studies is awarded to a student in the LGBT studies certificate or minor program.

Learn more about the scholarship and past recipients


The Rodler-Wood Scholarship

The Rodler-Wood Scholarship was established in 2004 by University of Maryland alum James Wood ’72 and his partner Peter Rodler (1936–2010). The scholarship is awarded in the spring, and selection is based on one or more of the following criteria: demonstrated financial need, hardship based on sexual orientation, academic interest in LGBT Studies and extracurricular activities on behalf of LGBT issues. This award is given in the Spring semester.

Learn more about the Rodler-Wood Scholarship.


Academic Enrichment Grants for Women’s Studies Majors

Need research funds? Help with travel or registration fees to participate in an academic or leadership conference/workshop?

Undergraduate women’s studies majors at UMD are eligible to apply for academic enrichment grants to fund research, participation in academic or leadership conferences and workshops or other activities that will enhance their education in women’s, gender and/or sexuality studies. 

Applications are due November 1 and April 1 each year.

Read more about Academic Enrichment Grants.

Laura Nichols Award

From her arrival at the University of Maryland in 1987 to her retirement in 2014, Laura Nichols was a key staff member in women’s studies and an important advocate for equality and inclusiveness in the university as a whole. The Laura Nichols Award recognizes undergraduate students who exemplify her commitment to feminist principles and social change through their scholarship, service, activism and/or creative endeavor. Women’s studies majors and certificates, Black women’s studies minors and LGBT studies certificates and minors are all eligible.

Applications are due April 1 each year.

Learn more about the Laura Nichols Award.

National Women’s Studies Association Conference Undergraduate Award

National Women’s Studies Association (NWSA) conference awards are given each fall to support the participation of undergraduate students in the annual  NWSA conference.

Learn more about the NWSA Award.